The Boring PartsFederalLocal · USLocal · Canada
Clermont, FL · all Clermont meetings

Clermont meeting summaries, agendas, and minutes

Plain-English weekly recaps written from official meeting records. 6 weeks available.

Weeks

Week of 2026-10-19

Clermont agendas: $15.36M DEP loan, 2045 Comprehensive Plan, firefighter grant — but no outcomes yet recorded

Clermont's city boards took up a proposed $15,360,000 loan agreement, the city's 2045 Comprehensive Plan and a grant for 18 firefighter positions over the past two weeks — but no minutes have been published for any of those meetings, so the record supplied here shows what was scheduled for consideration, not what was decided. No vote tallies are available for any item below.

$15.36 million DEP loan heads to council

The largest money item on the October 13 City Council agenda is a loan agreement for $15,360,000 with 50% Principal Forgiveness from the Florida Dept. of Environmental Protection. The agenda lists it among several funding agreements before the Council. The same agenda lists a SAFER grant for 18 additional firefighter positions for Fire Station 6 Verde Ridge/Highland Ranch, and a change order for $82,751.19 with DCRV Contracting, LLC for Downtown Dumpster Enclosures.

Also on that agenda: a rezoning and land use change to Commercial/PUD for property northeast of Oakley Seaver Dr. and Hunt Trace Blvd., and the introduction of an ordinance regarding e-bike regulations. An introduction is a first step; the agenda does not indicate any adoption.

2045 Comprehensive Plan still in the pipeline

The Planning and Zoning Commission listed Ordinance No. 2027-001, adopting the City of Clermont 2045 Comprehensive Plan, for its October 6 meeting at 6:30 PM at Clermont City Hall, 685 West Montrose Street. The same agenda carried four land-use ordinances covering two areas:

The October 6 agenda also listed votes on minutes from the July 21, 2026 workshop and the September 1, 2026 meeting. The Commission returned to the Comprehensive Plan on October 12, listing Ordinance No. 2027-001 under unfinished business.

Council workshop was discussion-only

The City Council met in a workshop at 3:00 PM on October 6 at Clermont City Hall. The only substantive item was a discussion of the Comprehensive Plan. The agenda states that workshops are for information gathering and discussion only and that the Council will not vote on any issues at that meeting. No contracts, ordinances, fee changes or public hearings were listed.

CRA to consider grants program

The Community Redevelopment Agency met October 13 with one item of new business: approval of the Implementation Forum Grants program. The agenda does not state an outcome.

What the record does not show

Every meeting summarized here is agenda-only; minutes have not yet been published. That means no item above can be reported as approved, denied or amended, and no vote counts are available. The absence of minutes is not evidence that an item failed or was withdrawn.

Coming up

No upcoming meetings were listed in the data provided for the next 14 days. Residents who want to confirm scheduling should check the City of Clermont's official agenda postings, which remain the authoritative record.

Week of 2026-10-12

Clermont council to weigh $15,360,000 DEP loan and firefighter grant; planners take up 2045 Comprehensive Plan

Clermont's City Council is scheduled to consider a $15,360,000 loan agreement with the Florida Department of Environmental Protection and a grant tied to 18 additional firefighter positions at its meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 13. Those items appear on an agenda; the agenda does not state outcomes, and no minutes or vote records for that meeting have been published.

Over the past two weeks, the city's Planning and Zoning Commission and the City Council took up the 2045 Comprehensive Plan and several land-use changes. The records available for those meetings are agendas only, so no decisions from them are established here.

Council agenda: $15,360,000 loan, firefighter grant

The Oct. 13 City Council agenda lists a loan agreement for $15,360,000 with 50% Principal Forgiveness from the Florida Department of Environmental Protection. It also lists a SAFER grant for 18 additional firefighter positions for Fire Station 6 Verde Ridge/Highland Ranch.

Also on that agenda:

An introduction is a first step in the ordinance process. The agenda does not state that any of these items has been approved.

2045 Comprehensive Plan before planners

The Planning and Zoning Commission met at 6:30 PM on Tuesday, Oct. 6, at Clermont City Hall, 685 West Montrose Street. Its agenda listed Ordinance No. 2027-001 to adopt the City of Clermont 2045 Comprehensive Plan, along with four land-use ordinances and votes on minutes from a July 21, 2026 workshop and the Sept. 1, 2026 meeting.

The commission's Oct. 12 agenda listed the same comprehensive plan ordinance, Ordinance No. 2027-001, as unfinished business. Both records are agendas; no minutes have been published, so the commission's decisions are not established.

Land use near Oakley Seaver Dr. and Hooks St.

Two areas were covered by the Oct. 6 ordinances:

The Oct. 6 agenda listed all of these as consideration items and stated no outcomes.

Council workshop on the Comprehensive Plan

The City Council held a workshop at 3:00 PM on Tuesday, Oct. 6, at Clermont City Hall. The only substantive agenda item was a discussion of the Comprehensive Plan. The agenda states that workshops are for information gathering and discussion only and that the Council will not vote on any issues at that meeting. No contracts, ordinances, fee changes, or public hearings were listed.

Coming up

All items described above come from published agendas. Where minutes have not been published, this roundup does not report outcomes.

Week of 2026-08-24

Clermont Council to vote on moratoriums; advisory panels organize projects

The Clermont City Council and its advisory committees held several meetings over the past two weeks to organize work on a parking garage, Bishop Field improvements, and potential restrictions on new businesses. No final decisions were made at those meetings, as minutes have not yet been published. The most consequential action is scheduled for Tuesday, when the City Council will take a final vote on three six-month moratoriums.

Recent meetings

Joint CRA/City Council meeting (Aug. 11) — The agenda included only approval of prior meeting minutes and an agency administration item, with no substantive business.

City Council meeting (Aug. 11) — The council considered three six-month moratoriums on new smoke/vape shops, marijuana dispensaries, and data centers (Ordinances 2026-030, 2026-031, 2026-032). Also on the agenda: a conditional use permit for a mixed-use development at West End Plaza with 12 or more dwelling units (Resolution 2026-025R), and a final ordinance to expand public hearing notification distances from 150 to 450 feet (Ordinance 2026-026).

City Council workshop (Aug. 11) — A discussion-only session with the Community Redevelopment Agency Board regarding parks. No votes were taken.

Parking Garage Special Technical Advisory Committee (Aug. 13 and Aug. 20) — The committee met twice to organize itself, appoint a chairman and vice chairman, discuss parking garage criteria, and visit proposed sites. At the Aug. 20 meeting, members discussed and ranked design priorities. No specific design options or dollar amounts were listed.

Bishop Field Special Technical Advisory Committee (Aug. 18) — The committee organized itself and discussed proposed improvements to Bishop Field. No decisions were listed.

Special City Council meeting (Aug. 18) — The council held a closed litigation session. Public comment was limited to three minutes per speaker.

Upcoming decisions

The City Council will meet Tuesday, Aug. 25, to take a final vote on the three six-month moratoriums for smoke/vape shops, marijuana dispensaries, and data centers. The consent agenda includes a police dispatch agreement renewal for $612,504, a four-year Urban SDK contract totaling $67,200 ($16,800 per year), and a City Hall first-floor air conditioning replacement not to exceed $108,383.54. New business includes a conditional use permit for Elite Veterinary Specialists in the M-1 Industrial District and discussion of a bike/pedestrian pathway along East Avenue.

Also Tuesday, the Bishop Field advisory committee will meet to rank priorities for the project.

Coming up

Week of 2026-08-03

Clermont Council Took Up FY 2027 Tax Rate, Police Vehicle Purchase; Outcomes Pending

Clermont's City Council had its most consequential items of the past two weeks on the July 28 agenda, including the proposed maximum property tax rate for Fiscal Year 2027 and a $310,879.44 purchase of eight police vehicles. However, minutes for that meeting have not yet been published, so the outcomes of those items are not yet confirmed in the public record.

City Council — July 28

The Council's agenda listed several financial and policy items:

Because only the agenda is available and minutes have not been published, it is not yet possible to report how the Council voted on any of these items or whether any were deferred.

Planning and Zoning Commission — July 21

The Commission held a workshop on the Downtown Action Plan. The agenda stated the session was for information gathering and discussion only, with no votes scheduled. Minutes have not yet been published.

Code Enforcement Board — July 20

The Code Enforcement Board was scheduled to hear multiple property violation cases:

Minutes have not been published, so outcomes — including any fines imposed or reductions granted — are not yet confirmed.

Coming Up

Planning and Zoning Commission — Tuesday, August 4, 2026

The Commission is scheduled to vote on five items:

This meeting is the next opportunity for residents to see formal votes on land-use matters affecting the downtown area and the US Hwy 27 corridor.

Week of 2026-07-20

Clermont officials weighed budget, zoning rules, and retirement settlement in recent meetings

Clermont's City Council, Planning and Zoning Commission, and Police Officers Retirement Plan Board each met in the past two weeks to discuss the next fiscal year's budget, proposed land development changes, and a settlement agreement. Minutes have not yet been published for any of these meetings, so outcomes and vote tallies are not available; the following reflects what was on each agenda.

City Council budget workshops (July 7 and July 8)

The City Council held two workshop sessions — one on July 7 and another on July 8 — to discuss the proposed Fiscal Year 2026-2027 Budget. Both meetings were listed as discussion-only, with no votes scheduled. The Council reserved the right to adjust the agenda. Because minutes are not yet published, no details on the budget figures discussed are available from the official record.

Planning and Zoning Commission (July 7)

The Planning and Zoning Commission was scheduled to consider three substantive items:

The commission was also scheduled to approve minutes from its June 2, 2026 meeting. No vote tallies or outcomes are available because minutes have not been published.

Police Officers Retirement Plan Board of Trustees (July 9)

The Police Officers Retirement Plan Board of Trustees met at Clermont City Hall with remote access via Zoom. The agenda listed a proposed settlement agreement for discussion, along with other business. Public comments were accepted via email during the meeting. The board's next meeting is scheduled for August 26, 2026. No details on the settlement terms or any actions taken are available from the published record.

Coming up

Code Enforcement Hearing(s) — July 20, 2026. The Code Enforcement Board will hear cases involving fire alarm systems, refuse, unsafe structures, and infestation violations at multiple properties. The board will also consider a request for a fine reduction at 3224 Sailing Pier Ave. Specific cases on the agenda include:

Residents seeking official outcomes from the July 7, 8, and 9 meetings should watch for published minutes on the City of Clermont website, as agendas alone do not confirm what was decided.

Week of 2026-07-13

Clermont officials weigh next budget, dark sky lighting rules, and police retirement settlement

Clermont residents saw a busy stretch of public meetings the week of July 7, with the City Council holding two budget workshops, the Planning and Zoning Commission taking up three land-use items, and the Police Officers Retirement Plan Board of Trustees discussing a proposed settlement agreement. Because minutes have not yet been published for any of these meetings, outcomes and vote tallies are not yet available in the public record.

City Council Budget Workshops

The City Council held workshops on July 7 and July 8 to discuss the proposed Fiscal Year 2026-2027 budget. Both meetings were listed as discussion-only sessions with no votes scheduled. The council reserved the right to adjust the agenda. No dollar figures, proposed tax rates, or specific budget line items were included in the available agenda materials.

Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission met July 7 to consider three items:

The commission was also scheduled to approve minutes from its June 2, 2026 meeting and discuss non-agenda items. Vote tallies and whether each ordinance or resolution passed are not yet available, as minutes have not been published.

Police Officers Retirement Plan Board of Trustees

The Police Officers Retirement Plan Board of Trustees met July 9 at Clermont City Hall, with electronic participation available via Zoom. The agenda listed a proposed settlement agreement for discussion, along with other board business. Public comments were accepted via email during the meeting. The board's next meeting is scheduled for August 26, 2026. Details of the settlement agreement were not included in the available agenda materials.

What This Means for Residents

The budget workshops signal the start of Clermont's annual budget process for the fiscal year that begins October 1, 2026. Residents who want to follow spending and tax-rate decisions should watch for future council meetings where formal votes are scheduled.

The Planning and Zoning Commission items could affect neighborhood lighting rules, how nearby property owners are notified of hearings, and whether a veterinary clinic can operate in a Planned Unit Development. Residents interested in any of those topics can check the city's official agenda and minutes portal for recorded outcomes once minutes are published.

Coming Up

No upcoming public meetings are listed in the available data for the next 14 days. Residents should check the City of Clermont's official website for any meetings added after this report was compiled.

Generated from official meeting agendas and minutes — every underlying document is linked from the city page. Read the primary source before you rely on a detail.